A stranger in the grocery check out line turned to me and said “I have to know…bacon and brown sugar…what are you making?” I responded “Have you tried Paula Deen’s brown sugar bacon? It’s amazing!” And then I realized, I hadn’t posted the recipe here yet. Shame on me. I came straight home to share the bacon love.

Brinner at my house always includes Paula’s Brown Sugar Bacon. Sticky, sweet, smokey, savory, salty, and in some places, crunchy; this recipe is amazingly complex for a three ingredient recipe. Seriously, leave it to Paula Deen to come up with something so fatteningly perfect.


The bacon is made on a backing rack in a foil lined pan. The grease and some of the sugar drips onto the baking sheet so don’t forget the foil; otherwise you will have burnt mess on your hands. Sometimes the burnt stuff on the baking sheet starts smoking. Don’t panic, it is just the drippings.  When you take it out of the oven, just set the pan outside for about a minute and the grease will cool.

Paula Deen and her daughter-in-law have a cute video segment on this recipe. Check it out on foodnetwork.com. I use more bacon than Paula’s recipe, but the steps are the same. We have made this with both thick cut bacon and regular cut bacon. I prefer thin, hubby prefers thick. If you are making thick cut, you may have to bake for an extra 5-10 minutes depending on how you like your bacon cooked.

Brown Sugar Bacon

Total cook time: 25-30 minutes

Ingredients

1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1/2 pound sliced bacon

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large plastic zip-top bag, combine brown sugar and mustard. Add bacon and toss to coat.

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Place a cooling rack on the lined baking sheet. Put bacon on rack and roast in oven for 20 minutes. Let drain for a few minutes on the rack and serve.